Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Secondary Navigation

Main page Content


At Waterford State School we implement the Australian Curriculum in the learning areas of English, mathematics, science, history and geography. The Queensland Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Framework outlines the curriculum for the learning areas of Health and physical education, The arts, Technology and Studies of society. Teachers plan cooperatively to ensure every student is accessing the curriculum.

The Australian Curriculum

The Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) sets out the core knowledge, understanding, skills and general capabilities that are important for all Australian students.

It identifies what all young people should learn as they progress through schooling, and is the foundation for high quality teaching to meet the needs of all Australian students.

In 2014 all students across Australia will have a consistent curriculum in English, mathematics, science, history and geography, and these will be the core learning areas every young Australian will study during their education from Prep to Year 10.

Cross-curriculum priorities

Incorporated within each of the four key subjects and the seven general capabilities of the Australian Curriculum are the three cross-curriculum priorities. Students will learn about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and culture, Asia and Australia's engagement with Asia, and sustainability.